Arizona is home to a lot of retirees and golf enthusiasts. Anyone who has spent time in the state knows that it is not uncommon to see a golf cart of low-speed vehicle driving down a residential road.
The state has been very proactive in setting up laws for both carts and low-speed vehicles. They work to not only protect other drivers and pedestrians but those driving these vehicles as well. Read below to learn more about the most up to date Arizona golf cart laws.
What is the difference between a golf cart and an LSV?
Golf carts and LSVs are similar in a lot of ways. Carts, in general, come with fewer restrictions, and they are slower.
All carts must not exceed 25 mph, or they fall into another category. Golfers who only use carts on the course or private roads do not have to register their vehicle. If a person does want to use it on the road, the cart falls into the LSV category.
Arizona Golf Cart Laws
Privately, a person is under no obligation to obtain a driver’s license to operate a cart. A lot of golf clubs will not rent out carts to anyone under the age of 14.
Drivers who are reckless, or driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs, can still be cited on private property. Despite the speed limitations, carts can always do serious personal and property damage.
Since Arizona requires a person to make their cart street legal when driven on public roads, drivers must abide by the standard driving laws. They are limited to roads that are 35 mph or lower, and more on those low-speed vehicles are covered below.
Arizona LSV Laws
For a person to drive a low-speed vehicle, they first must be a registered driver. When driving a LSV in the state of Arizona, a license is required by the Arizona DMV.
The vehicle must have headlights, brake lights, and a horn. The primary requirement LSVs are exempt from is the need for a windshield. While it is not necessary, some people still opt to have a windshield installed if they are driving on public roads a lot. It can help protect the driver and passengers from debris.
Unless otherwise noted, driving after dark is prohibited. Many communities do allow driving at late hours though, and drivers are allowed to drive at night if they are traveling back to their home.
Liability insurance is required by law in the state of Arizona for any LSV driver. Most people can work with their current insurance provider to have all vehicles insured under one policy.
What you need for the Department of Motor Vehicles to Register an LSV in Arizona
Dealing with the DMV can be frustrating, but having a checklist can be helpful before showing up. Below is a list of everything needed.
- Manufacturer’s Certificate
- Application Form For The Title
- Proof of Arizona Insurance
- Driver’s license, ID Card or Passport
- Title fee
- Plate fee
- Initial Registration Fee
- Registration fee
Carts are only going to become more prevalent in residential areas. Those in older communities especially will see an increase in the coming years.
After the initial investment, maintaining a cart is extremely easy. Electric options require no gas, and repairs are much more inexpensive compared to cars.
Some might not be happy that golf carts can fall under similar laws as a regular vehicle, but the state of Arizona is doing what they need to do for the safety of all drivers on the road.